Hooded Heaven

I thought I’d share the ups and downs of my very simple hooded scarf. When I say simple I am definitely not claiming it’s without mistakes. For a start I chose Autumnal rather than Spring colours – this is fine, I suppose, but means my new project might have to go live at the back of the wardrobe for several months.

_DSC0087

The yarn is Mirasol Sulka and is so soft to touch it’s perfect for snuggling up in on a crisp day. And I do love the colours – they just say “October” rather than “March”…

The hooded part of the scarf is soft and flexible BUT my regret is not putting a row of double crochet along the edge because it flops about a bit too much and loses its shape.

_DSC0048Β  Β Β Β _DSC0044Β  Β  Β _DSC0096

Nice, but not perfect.

I deliberately made a tight foundation chain as this helps to shape the hood at the back and also means the scarf has a tendency to spiral down beautifully.

_DSC0107

Β _DSC0106

I’d really like to start sharing patterns on Ravelry but I keep forgetting to write things down as I go, so my new “rule” is when I’m not following a pattern and am free-styling my way through a piece – I MUST write down what I’m doing. For example, this scarf is a row of double crochet, then treble crochet, then it switches to the V-stitch the rest of the way, but how many stitches of each were used I genuinely couldn’t tell you.

I also need to take into consideration the most efficient way of using a ball of yarn. With this scarf I was constantly buying extra yardage and found that each hank of yarn did a row and “a bit” (and it was a different length “bit” every time!), so next time I make it I will set the length of the scarf according to how many rows I can get out of a standard ball using my chosen stitch pattern. That probably makes no sense, but I know what I mean!

Overall, I’m pleased because it’s wearable, unique and my own design. As much as I like following patterns and learn a lot from them, I am definitely happier using them as inspiration for something (often daft) from my own head rather than somebody else’s.

_DSC0060

_DSC0064

_DSC0056

One thought on “Hooded Heaven

Leave a Reply

